What I Read This Week – Week 31

I made it to 7 books this week.  To be fair, though, 3 of them were super short.

20262703

Love Letters by Debbie Macomber – I received this in the mail from Random House.  I stared at it for a while.  Then I took it on vacation.  The reason I didn’t pick this up sooner? A) There’s another book that came in the mail before it that I am struggling to read.  B) I had not idea how awesome Debbie Macomber is.  Why hasn’t anyone recommended these to me before?  Shame on you.  This book was like a Nicholas Sparks without the tear fest. It was like the very best of made for TV movies (No judging.  I know you secretly watch tons of reality TV).  I feel compelled to read more of these.  4 giant stars for the book that didn’t make me cry like a deranged lunatic.

 

22210418

Ricochet by Mary Jo McConahay – I received this as an ebook from Netgalley. It was part of a SheBooks promotion.  It is a memoir written by a reporter who was stationed in Latin America at the end of the Cold War.  I like memoirs because they give you insight into how other people live their lives.  I especially like the ones that have unusual occupations or a humanitarian leaning.  This book had both of those.  It’s very short.  I read it on the elliptical in a couple of sessions.  Just enlarge the font on your kindle to a comfortable level and go.  Try not to fall off.  That’s just embarrassing.  It’s $2.99 in the kindle store.  It’s definitely worth the money.  I recommend this especially to anyone that is struggling to meet their goodreads goal.  It’s getting a solid 3 stars.

16099189(2)

The Light in the Ruins by Chris Bohjalian – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library.  If I hadn’t read this as an audiobook, I would never have figured out how to pronounce this author’s name.  I quite like most of his books.  They tend to be sort of dark and horrific.  This was no exception.  I’d have to say that the best part of this book for me was that creepy voice used by the narrator of the parts when the killer is talking directly to the reader.  This was really well done.  I nearly killed my cell phone battery listening to this on the way home from NY.  Good thing I had my kindle and Fanny Hill along also.  If you’re a fan of Chris Bohjalian, definitely read this.  If you like historical fiction, World War II era mystery novels, this book is for you.  This is getting a solid 4 stars.

18131

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – I borrowed this from the Boston Public library as an epub and read it on my phone.  The kindle addict does not enjoy reading itty bitty text on her phone.  She’s very lazy.  I think everyone should go back and read a kid’s book once in a while.  We originally read this with my mum when we were little.  No I did not read this to a child.  Yes I read it all by myself.  No my mother did not help me sound out the big words.  Any more questions?  My mother did warn me that there was a religious undertone to this.  I didn’t see it until the end and it was most definitely an overtone.  I tried to ignore it (Why would you ruin a perfectly good children’s book with a religious message?).  I’ve put a hold on the next one.  We’ll see where it goes.  This is getting 4 stars because it is a really great story.

22363833

I’ll Give You Something to Cry About by Jennifer Finney Boylan – I received this as an ebook from Netgalley, part of the SheBooks promotion.  This was a holy cow surprisingly amazing tiny bit of awesomeness.  I also took this for a whirl on the elliptical. It is laugh out loud funny.  The characters are amazing.  It sort of reminded me of the movie Little Miss Sunshinebut less awkward.  It’s super quick and completely enjoyable. And it’s $2.99 in the kindle store.  I would recommend this book (novella) to everyone and especially to those who have short attention spans or who are behind on their goodreads goal.  This one is getting 5 stars from me.

13148921

Bloodline by James Rollins – I borrowed this as an actual book out of the Boston Public Library.  It was made of paper!  I had to turn pages!  Just kidding.  I don’t mind having a book.  This is the eighth book in this series.  I love them.  I read them out of order, depending on what is available.  All of the characters are wonderful.  This book added Tucker and Kane to the mix.  They appear in their own books as well.  These books are a mix of science, archaeology, and covert operatives.  They can be a bit out there, but this series is better than most in this general category.  I’m giving it a solid 4 stars.

10387567

Three Sisters by Helen Smith – This was a kindle daily deal on amazon.com (but it’s only $2.99 regularly).  The author actually pointed it out to me.  Basically, Emily is sad because her dog has died, the circus performers that are squatting in the house at the end of the lane are having a party, and so she goes.  This is very steampunk and quite fun.  It reminds me of something Walter Sickert and co. would come up with.  There is a murder or maybe there isn’t a murder. There is behind the scenes drama as well.  This kept me on the elliptical for over an hour.  I would recommend it just for that.  This is a novella, so it is a very quick read.  I would recommend this for anyone that doesn’t have a lot of time but enjoys a good mystery.  I’m giving it a solid 4 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

