What I Read This Week – Week 32

I wasn’t sure that I’d finish anything this week, but I made it to 5 anyway.  I need to write about these before I forget what they are about….

69629

The Judas Goat by Robert B. Parker – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Norwood Morrill Memorial Library.  This is book #5 in the Spenser series.  I liked this better than the last.  Spenser is very funny.  There is a Sam Spade / Nick Charles quality to the character that I really enjoy.  In this one, Spenser and Hawk are tracking terrorists in London and across the globe.  I found this one really enjoyable.  As usual, these are short and they move fast.  I’m giving it 4 stars.

6752378

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library.  This is the 4th book in the Mortal Instruments series (trilogy?). After all of the evil characters have died and the world has been saved, we’re stretching to find new plot points.  I liked it anyway.  Alec and Magnus are starting to remind me of a couple I know, which is actually quite amusing.  Poor Clary, just when you think her life is going to start being more normal, all of this other stuff happens that I am not going to ruin for you.  I am totally hooked on this series.  I already put a hold on the next book.  I’m giving it 4 stars because I really liked it.

4374400

If I Stay by Gayle Forman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library.  And then there was this book.  I saw this had been made into a movie starring someone I thought was Elizabeth Olson, but actually isn’t.  This book has so many feelings it’s hard to think of anything else.  I had already started this when I decided to continue reading on the elliptical at the gym.  I should have known better.  I was crying (in public, at the gym) and I nearly choked because I wasn’t getting enough oxygen.  I knew this was going to be emotional.  I considered reading something else (only while at the gym), but I didn’t want to put it down and wait.  I nearly suffered a reading related death.  I wonder if anyone has ever died while reading.  Probably not.  They’re probably smart enough to put the book down before this becomes an issue.  Read this or go see the movie.  It is awesome. I’m giving it 5 stars.

6837103(2)

The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library.  This book was thrown in a bag and randomly selected by one of my book clubs.  This is a very good book.  If you liked The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd, this is the book for you.  There are slaves, an indentured servant, illegitimate children, drugs, incest, rape, insanity, beatings, drunkenness, infidelity, and many other things going on in this novel.  There is something for everyone.  You should give it a try. I’m giving it 4 stars.

18130

A Wind in the Door by Madeleine L’Engle – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library and read it on my phone.  It only took a couple of hours.  It’s short and it moves quickly.  It is the 2nd book in the time quintet.  I don’t know how I feel about this one.  There was not a distracting religious undertone to this one.  The characters are great, the story moves quickly, and it’s very imaginative.  I’m giving it 3 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

