What I Read – Week 33

13056152

The Yard by Alex Grecian – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library.  It was a book club pick.  I liked it.  It is set in post-Jack the Ripper era London.  A police officer has been murdered.  A small child has died mysteriously.  There is a kidnapped boy.  And there are a pair of whores that are randomly murdering men with beards.  It is sort of like the show Motive.  All of the players are revealed to the reader, but the motives aren’t necessarily apparent.  You end up hoping that the police will sort it all out before anyone else dies and hopefully save a young boy in the process.  I’m giving it 3 stars.

976673

The French Executioner by C.C. Humphreys – I received this from the publisher via Netgalley.  I thoroughly enjoyed this.  There is a lot of action and it was hard to put down, to the point where I was using the text to speech option in the car.  Anne Boleyn’s executioner is sent on a quest to bury her 6 fingered hand at a crossroads in Loire.  The Archbishop of Siena also covets the hand, for his own strange purposes.  I’m definitely looking forward to a second adventure from this group of characters. This is an epic adventure combined with historical fiction.  It has something for everyone.  I’m giving it 4 stars.

21942189

The Language of Hoofbeats by Catherine Ryan Hyde – I received this from the publisher via Netgalley.  I enjoyed this book a great deal also.  It is by the author of Pay It Forward, which I have not actually read.  I know, haha, a book I haven’t read.  I did read Don’t Let Me Go, which I also thoroughly enjoyed.  A troubled teen steals a horse from a mean old lady.  Her foster moms are left to care for the neighbor, as well as two other boys currently in their care, while the sheriffs search for the girl and the horse.  This book is about taking care of other people.  It is a common them in her books.  I’m giving it 4 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

