What I Read – Week 34

Here we go.  Please bear with me.  I’m not actually finished, but I wanted to get started anyway.

17665375

The Banks of Certain Rivers by Jon Harrison – I received this from the publisher via Netgalley as an e-book. I liked it a lot. Neil’s wife is in a coma, his girlfriend is pregnant, and there is a scandal at work that is threatening his job. It sounds exciting, right? I thought this character was probably going to be a bit of a jerk, but I was definitely wrong. He cares deeply for all of the people in his life and he just wants to help them all. They certainly come to his aid when he needs it most. The story is great and the characters are all very well written. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes a good plot. I’m giving it 4 stars.

4332082

The Piano Teacher by Janice Y. K. Lee – I borrowed this from the Boston Public Library as an audiobook. This one grew on me. It was hard to listen to at first. Claire is a bit of a bigot and it sort of rubbed me the wrong way. I mean, why marry a man and move to Hong Kong if you’re completely closed minded to other cultures? That made no sense to me. As the story progressed, I came to like her more. The portrayal of the hardships in Hong Kong under Japanese occupation during World War II was very interesting. I do not think I have read any other novels that cover this topic. It makes me interested to learn more about the subject. I’m giving this 3 stars, mainly because I learened about something I didn’t know.

18774980

Accidents of Marriage by Randy Susan Meyers – I received this from the publisher via Netgalley as an e-book. I cannot believe that I just read another book that has a character in a coma. That is 3 out of the last 10. Why is this a popular theme lately? I suppose if you’re going for the heart wrenching extreme emotion thing, this really fits as a plot point. I feel like I need to read 20 books about vampires and zombies and other totally unrealistic things just to get this out of my system. Once in a while I like to emote, but this is excessive. All that aside, I really did enjoy this book. I had to text to speech toward the end because I just had to know how the characters were going to sort themselves out. I liked it a million times more than The Comfort of Lies and I hope that is a sign that her books are going to continue to get better. This is also set in Boston, so extra points for that as well. I drive on the Jamaicaway every weekday to get to work and I totally understand how the characters could get in an accident there. Once I was talking to my mom on the phone and she called my father a douchebag and I was so surprised that I nearly drove my car into a tree, so yeah, I get it.  For the record, my father really is a douchebag, I’ve just never heard my mother swear.  I have told you nothing about the book.  If you’d like a synopsis, go here.  I’m giving it 4 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

