What I Read – Week 34 – Part 2

So, rather than add these to the end of the last post, they’re getting their own. I went on a mini vacay in RI this weekend and this is what I finished.

19533845

Color of Evil by Armando Rodera – I won this from a Goodreads first reads giveaway contest. It was a paper copy that I received in the mail from the publisher. This book was really awesome. It is about a serial killer on the loose in Spain. I did not have it all figured out until the author began the reveal, which makes for the best sort of mystery novel. I hate when I figure out the entire thing way too early. This is really fast paced and I had a hard time putting it down, even when I was supposed to leave and go do something super fun with friends. There is no text to speech option for a paper book. You have to either keep reading or put it away. It was like trying to pause a movie during the best car chase ever. I had to do it, though. I paused during the reveal, drove like a speed demon to RI, raced to a chair, resumed reading.  I may be exaggerating just a touch, but this really is a great book. I’m giving it 5 stars.

11300302

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. It was available, I was bored with what I was already supposed to be reading, and there was the promise of zombies. There were zombies, but they were infected zombie spirits that only some people are able to see. This is definitely a young adult novel. It was a very quick read. I did not take the next book off my wish list. This is only very very loosely tied to the original Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. But somehow that’s okay. This is a vastly different story than the original, but it doesn’t detract from the original or make this seem less of a story for not living up to it either.  They are just totally different. I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars. It may be a while before you see a review for the next one, despite the face that the 3rd installment is due out shortly.

That’s it. I promise. No more Week 34.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

