What I Read – Week 35

I know I’m late and you’ve been on the edge of your seat in anticipation, but I was in RI all weekend (yes, again). And I just didn’t get to it. Swimming v. Blogging? Swimming wins every time.

16138688

The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. I thought this book was great. I love books about art and specific works of art. This one centers around the Degas sculpture Little Dancer, Aged 14. There is a bronze cast of this sculpture in the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston and I make sure to visit it every time that I go to the museum. The original wax version is in the National Gallery in DC, and I’m putting it on my list of things to see when I go to DC in October. Apparently, reviews of the sculpture were rather unflattering to the model. I love her and refuse to change my opinion. All of the characters (okay, maybe not all) are based on real people and real events as imagined by the author. I was really impressed with this novel. I’m giving it 4 stars.

7171637

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – I downloaded this as an e-book from the BPL. I was being lazy and wanted something to read in bed without having to turn on the light (or subsequently get out of bed and turn it off later), so I downloaded this to my phone. It’s the companion series to the Mortal Instruments. It is set in London in the 1880s, and it centers around the same families and some of the same characters as the other books. I enjoyed this as much, if not more, than the other series. I’m giving it 4 stars.

20590584

Mademoiselle: Coco Chanel and the Pulse of History by Rhonda K. Garelick – I received this from the publisher via Netgalley. This is a really well written biography of Chanel. It covers every aspect of her life, including the dark bits, like her Nazi sympathies before and during World War II. Chanel really changed the fashion world and remains a style icon to this day. I really enjoyed this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

8755776

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL in East Boston. I was at the library, this happened to be on the shelf, so I borrowed it and removed the hold from the digital copy that I had been on the wait list for since finishing the last one. I am totally hooked on these. There is only one left after this one and then I have to wait around for new ones to be published. That is probably a good thing since my to read list keeps growing faster than I can finish things. I’m giving this 4 stars and I can’t wait to read the next one. How’s that for a recommendation?

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

