What I Read – Week 37 – Part 2

Well, I finished 2 more books over the weekend. Unfortunately, I received notifications for 2 new books. I’m afraid to check my personal email. The library probably sent me 6 other things. I did attend 2 different book club meetings, so I did socialize a bit, even if it was totally nerdy.

18764826

The House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell – I received this from the publisher as an e-book via netgalley. This was a really interesting book. If you want to feel better about your family situation, please read this book. All of the characters are totally fucked up, except maybe the oldest daughter, who seems to be able to function relatively well (but possibly only compared to the others). I’m not going to tell you the plot because that would totally ruin this book for you. All I have to say is that the mother is a hoarder and that shit freaks me the fuck out. The hair on my arms is standing on end, just thinking about it to write this. I feel compelled to throw all of my belongings in the trash. Despite the heebie jeebies, I am giving this 4 stars.

18667780

Down the Shore by Stan Parish – I received this as an actual book via a contest on facebook. It came with a tote bag. I’ve actually been using the tote bag to cart books around. When this came to the top of my giant pile of books, I started to use the tote bag, but totally ignored the book. For some reason I had the impression that this book was about surfing. It isn’t. They go surfing maybe twice in the entire book. It’s really a coming of age story. The protagonist is mired in a world of privilege. It’s like a cross between The Goldfinch  and Gossip Girl (if the show centered more on the boys). Prince William appears as a character and there is a reference made to Kate. This book was a lot better than I expected. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And we’re done. On to something else…..

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

