What I Read – Week 38

Here is what I’ve made it through so far this week. Tune in for more updates later.

7432

Pardonable Lies by Jacqueline Winspear – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Norwood Public Library. This is Maisie Dobbs #3. I love Maisie Dobbs. These are set in post-WWI London. In this one, she needs to save a young girl accused of killing her “uncle,” find proof that a man’s son is actually dead, and find out what actually happened to her friend’s brother. I quite enjoy these. I find the inter-war years in Europe to be an interesting setting, especially the lead up to WWII. This installment was as enjoyable as the others. I’m giving it 4 stars.

11736995

Where She Went by Gayle Forman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is the sequel to If I Stay. I really love the cover. This book follows Adam. It’s 3 years later and the band is a success, but he no longer has Mia. It’s cute and I liked it, but it totally did not add up to the awesomeness of the first book. I felt bad for Adam, but I didn’t find this as emotionally taxing as the last one. This is losing a point because the e-book did something totally annoying. I got to 81%. Bam. Acknowledgements. I didn’t see it coming. I wasn’t ready for the book to end right there. I actually went back and read the last 3 chapters. I guess I needed more time with the characters. I’m giving it 3 stars.

20967058

The Secret Place by Tana French – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via Netgalley. This is Dublin Murder Squad #5. I loved it. The intrigue and the back stabbing is awesome. Basically, a boy is found murdered on the grounds of a girls’ boarding school. The characters are outstanding. I was kept guessing until the reveal. I love when that happens. I even suspected some of the adults were involved at times. If the plots are always this good, I may be compelled to read the rest of the series. I’m giving it 5 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Read – Week 38

  1. Pingback: Week 34 – 2016 | Vanessa's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

