What I Read – Week 39

This is pathetic, almost shameful, but I only finished 2 books last week. I was distracted. My audiobook was super long. I went to NJ for the weekend. There. That’s my pathetic attempt at an excuse.

20650580

Inamorata by Megan Chance – I received this from the publisher as an e-book via Netgalley. I like books about art and artists, but this book was just kind of weird. I enjoyed it. Basically, there is a succubus that feeds off artistic talent and leaves her victims without talent. In order to defeat her, she needs to be thwarted from making a deal before 3 years are up. This takes place in Venice, which gets an extra point. I’ve only been to Venice once, but it is such a magical place. It was not hard to picture it as the setting. I’m giving it 3 stars.

8664353

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Norwood Public Library. I also borrowed it as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This was a book club pick. It’s really long. It is the biography of Louis Zamperini. He competed at the Berlin games in track. When the US entered World War II he joined the Army Air Forces and became a bombardier. He survives a plane crash only to be stranded on a life raft. Obviously someone survives or this would be a novel, but you’ll have to read this for yourself. On a side note, the audiobook is narrated by Edward Herrmann, and it’s very soothing to listen to. Not that you’d fall asleep, but if you’re having a really bad day, like you just got laid off from your job or something, it’s very calming. Edward Herrmann was Lorelei’s dad on Gilmore Girls and played FDR in Annie. I’m giving it 4 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

