What I Read – Week 41

I finished a lot of books this week. I suppose that I wasn’t that busy, but I also had quite a lot of them already started.

18850688

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via Netgalley. I really enjoyed this one. I read it while on vacation in DC. It is the story of a woman searching for a painting she saw once as a child. The subject of the painting is a young girl being held prisoner in Auschwitz during the Holocaust. It is also the story of that young girl and the circumstances that lead to her imprisonment. Both young women are searching for love, despite the obstacles they must face. It is a really compelling story. It is a bit heavy on the God subject, though it does not detract from the story. I’m giving this 4 stars.

23001324

The Forgotten Girls by Sara Blaedel – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via Netgalley. This one is a detective novel and it is quite well written. In fact, this was nearly impossible to put down. This is Danish and lives up to the theory that translated books are better than others. Why would they translate them otherwise? This starts with a woman who has died due to suspicious circumstances. No one has reported her missing. Probably because she had already been declared dead… 30 years previously. And where is her twin sister? There are other suspicious incidents happening in the area and they may all be related. I quite enjoyed the characters. This seems to be part of a series and I may go back and read earlier books in the series. I’m giving this 4 stars.

18144171

The Wolf in Winter by John Connolly – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via Netgalley. This is Charlie Parker #12. I quite enjoyed it. As the novel begins, Charlie, Louis and Angel are pursuing an old nemesis. Alas, he gets away, so they are onto other cases. A friend of Charlie’s, a homeless man, turns up dead. The man’s daughter is also missing. This next bit gets a bit weird, as this is a detective novel. There is a town in Maine that is sacrificing young girls to a god that is residing under their church. If the townspeople do not make the sacrifice in time, the town’s luck goes away. I have no idea if the other books in this series are quite so weird. I’m giving it 3 stars.

13481275

Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. I actually put this on hold and went to retrieve it when it appeared in East Boston. Then I held onto it for quite a while, renewed it a couple of times, before actually reading it. I love Garden Spells, and have read every other book written by this author, despite none of the rest being quite as good. This book was just as good as Garden Spells and my faith is renewed. This book is magical. The characters are really great. I’m giving this 5 stars.

20309175

My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via Netgalley. This is a young adult collection of Christmas stories. I quite enjoyed most of the stories. It starts with Rainbow Rowell, which was an excellent move. Gayle Forman and Laini Taylor are also featured, in addition to 9 other authors that I am not overly familiar with. I don’t normally read short stories, mainly because they’re too short, but I really enjoyed this. I’m giving this 4 stars.

7433

Messenger of Truth by Jacqueline Winspear – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This is Maisie Dobbs #4. I love these. In this one, Maisie is looking into the suspicious death of an artist. The police have written it off as an accident. The victim fell off a scaffolding when installing artwork at a gallery. This one also addresses poverty and the smuggling of artwork out of Europe. And Maisie is having boy trouble. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

