What I Read – Week 42

I’m very behind. I owe 2 posts. Here’s the first.

13721341

Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is a retelling of the Bluebeard fairy tale. It is set in antebellum Mississippi. Basically, a young girl is taken in by her godfather after the death of her mother. It turns out that her guardian has had several wives and plans to make this girl the next. This girl seemed a bit too naive, but sorts her life out in the end. It was enjoyable, if a bit predictable. I’m giving this 3 stars.

20587874

The Night Garden by Lisa Van Allen – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via Netgalley. I quite enjoyed this book. This is about a garden maze and the people that are tied to it, including a nosy next door neighbor who obviously doesn’t approve. I thought this should be called The Poison Garden. The young woman that tends the garden has become so tied to the garden that she has actually turned poisonous if anyone touches her. Unfortunately, the boy that she loved in high school is extremely allergic to poison ivy and has an adverse reaction to her. How do you make love work if you cannot even touch? It’s cute. I’m giving it 4 stars.

16054217

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is the third book in the All Souls Trilogy. I love these. I totally devoured this in about 2 days. This is witches and vampires for adults. I highly recommend it. I’m giving it 5 stars.

17380041

Longbourn by Jo Baker – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Pride and Prejudice from the viewpoint of the servants. I really enjoyed it. It gave me a book hangover. I definitely did not get enough sleep once I decided to finish this. I really got into it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

