What I Read – Week 43

So I’m still really behind. I’ve been busy.

16142157

Blood & Beauty by Sarah Dunant – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is historical fiction and it focuses on the Borgias. I was really impressed with this one. Obviously it’s a novel, but the history is very compelling. Pope Alexander VI and his children were a force to be reckoned with. I’m giving this 4 stars.

16248246

Unnatural Creatures – Stories Selected by Neil Gaiman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Norwood Public Library. Some of these stories were good. Others were great. Some were very much too long. There is one about time travel that I found especially delightful. This took me forever to read. I’m not a huge fan of short stories in general. This is definitely intended for a younger audience. It was okay. I’m giving it 2 stars.

18594633

Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Norwood Public Library. This is the author that wrote The Dinner. His books are sort of horrifying. All of the characters are easily disliked. This starts with a doctor who has killed a patient. It is really well written and I definitely enjoyed it, despite being horrified at times. If you like a nice story with heroes and a happy ending, definitely skip this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

18214414

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I devoured this book. I love the characters. This is Cormoran Strike #2 and it’s written by J.K. Rowling. It is a detective novel. In this one, Strike is employed in the search for a missing writer. I didn’t have this figured out until the reveal happened, which is how a good detective novel should be. I thoroughly enjoyed this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Done. Week 43 is over.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

