What I Read – Week 48

Here’s another week in books. Don’t die from shock or anything.

18601430

Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Waterfire Saga #1 and it’s by one of my favorite authors. It’s young adult fantasy and it’s about mermaids. Yes. Mermaids. It is very clever and well written. I would never have read a book about mermaids by some other author (probably). It’s good and I definitely recommend it, especially if you like fantasy and are looking for something unusual. I’m giving it 4 stars.

12782865

The Lewis Man by Peter May – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Lewis Trilogy #2. A body is found in the bog. When the coroner discovers an Elvis tattoo on the bog man’s forearm, a murder investigation is opened. Unfortunately, the prime suspect suffers from dementia. I thoroughly enjoyed this and it went in a direction that I didn’t expect, so it’s getting 5 stars.

22318363

Dreaming Spies by Laurie R. King – I received this from the publisher via Net Galley. It is Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes #13. This story goes back and tells what happened while Russell and Holmes were in Japan for 3 weeks between their adventures in India and San Francisco. It begins with an unexpected guest that turns up when they return from Morocco. As if they could have a week to themselves without intrigue. It fits in well with the series and I definitely enjoyed it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

19004663

Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich – I scored this off my mother who had borrowed it from the Brownville Public Library. I knew it would be a fast read and I could finish it before returning to my own house. This is Stephanie Plum #21. I have read all of the previous 20 and continue to pick these up. The characters are hilarious and the books are highly entertaining. If you like to laugh and haven’t tried these, you should definitely give it a whirl. I would start at the beginning and go from there. I’m giving this one 3 stars.

And that’s it. I must have been busy doing other stuff that week.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

