What I Read – Week 50

I’m still behind, but I’m working on catching up.

17876893

Captivated by You by Sylvia Day – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Crossfire #4. I liked it. It was okay. This seemed like sort of a filler book in this series. I’ll still read the next one, but this wasn’t my favorite. I’m giving it 2 stars.

2509864

The Black Path by Asa Larsson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Rebecka Martinsson #3. This was a great addition to the series. These are really well written mystery novels. I definitely recommend these to anyone that even sort of enjoys mystery novels. This one is getting 3 stars.

10032672

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was a book club pick. It is sort of chick lit and it centers around the Victorian language of flowers. People used to communicate through flowers, which all have different meanings and sometimes multiple meanings. The characters are all searching for love of various kinds. It is also about forgiveness and second chances. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving this 4 stars.

16093917

The Pleasures of Winter by Evie Hunter – I received this from the publisher as an e-book via NetGalley. I liked this. It starts with a reporter running from thugs in Honduras. She catches a ride on a private plane with a famous actor and his entourage. The pilot dies and they crash in the jungle. A romance ensues. This is BDSM and not for young readers. It’s sort of hitching a ride on the 50 Shades success, but it is way better written. You can tell that the author is Irish because of some of the terms she uses. The American reporter at one point refers to a cash register as the till, but it doesn’t really detract from the story. I’m giving this 3 stars.

7908638

Star Island by Carl Hiaasen – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL. This is Skink #6. I have read other books in this series and I quite enjoy them. You definitely do not need to read these in order. This author is very funny and I always enjoy his books thoroughly. I recommend these to anyone that has a sense of humor and enjoys a good laugh. I’m giving this one 3 stars.

That’s it for week 50. 2 more to go!

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

