What I Read – Week 51

I’m almost done for the year. This is where we run around and try to finish books that need to be returned to people. I also tried to finish some library books and return them before leaving town. We’re starting with Agatha Christie….

16331

Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie – I borrowed this from my mum. It’s been in my house for a really long time. It actually smells like the candles I keep stored in my nightstand. This is Miss Marple #1. This was really cute. Everyone underestimates the old lady. Actually, they don’t but they keep mentioning the fact that she never misses anything. Yeah. We’ve got it. A man is found dead in the vicarage. This is a typical mystery novel. It is thoroughly entertaining. This is my first Miss Marple and I suppose it was also Ms. Christie’s first as well. I’m looking forward to the next one. Unfortunately, my mum doesn’t have the next one, so I need to wait on a hold list with the library. Boo. I’m giving this 3 stars.

9209187

Cleaning Nabokov’s House by Leslie Daniels – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This was pretty cute. A woman leaves her kids and loses custody of her children. In order to get them back, she has a list of things she needs to accomplish in order to prove that she is a fit caregiver. She moves into a house once rented by Nabokov, finds an unfinished novel, opens a cathouse for women and becomes a guest lecturer / romance novelist. It’s weird. The plot meanders a bit. I liked it anyway. I’m giving it 3 stars.

483103

The Seven Dials Mystery by Agatha Christie – This is another book that I borrowed from my mum. This is Superintendent Battle #2. This starts with a house party and a practical joke that doesn’t seem very funny when the subject of the prank turns up dead. If I tell you too much, I’ll give things away. If you like a mystery, this one is quite good. I’m giving it 3 stars.

I guess that’s it. I have quite a lot of other books in process. So I have 2 to return to my mother and 1 for the library. Apparently, if I want to increase my total for next year, I’ll need to up my game.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

