What I Read – Week 52

This is the last entry of the year. I made it. And it’s still December. I should be jumping up and down and shouting, but I just did an hour and a half on the elliptical, so I’m doing it in spirit. There aren’t many of these because of Christmas. Enjoy!

22608277

The Witch of Painted Sorrows by M.J. Rose – I received this from the publisher via NetGalley. I really liked this book. A young woman flees New York and an awful husband. She goes to her grandmother’s house in Paris. Then she is possessed by the spirit of one of her ancestors, a courtesan and witch. The setting is Belle Epoque Paris. It is really well written and I liked the characters a great deal. It is a mix of fantasy and historical fiction. I definitely recommend it to anyone that enjoys either. I’m giving it 4 stars.

16335

The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie – I borrowed this from my mum as well. This is Hercule Poirot #6. I thoroughly enjoyed it. A woman dies on a train and all of her acquaintances are suspected. There is also a missing ruby necklace. I did not figure this out right away, so I’m giving it 3 stars.

1468706

An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear – I borrowed this as en e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Maisie Dobbs #5. I love these. Maisie is a private detective in post-World War I Britain. These are cute. They are detective / mystery novels. This one is a great addition to the series. I’m giving it 3 stars.

That’s it for me in 2014. Have a Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

