Week 2 – 2015

I’m behind again. Suddenly it’s the end of January and I haven’t been posting. Here’s week 2. Sorry for the delay.

3690427

Among the Mad by Jacqueline Winspear – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Maisie Dobbs #6. I really love this series. This is an excellent addition to the series. I started listening to this on the way home from my mother’s house. I’m giving this 3 stars.

10644930

11/22/63 by Stephen King – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. A man goes back in time to try to stop the Kennedy assassination. So there’s time travel. And of course the past is obdurate so it tries not to be changed. This was good and I liked the concept, but it’s sort of long and a little boring. I’m giving this 3 stars.

4907243

Nobody Move by Denis Johnson – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. I put it on my list because of the cover and decided to give it a go because it is incredibly short. I set my Goodreads goal too high and I need to read some shorter stuff. My advice is to give this a pass. It’s sort of boring and not very Dashiell Hammett-like. I’m giving it 2 stars.

5422154

The Neighbor by Lisa Gardner – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Detective D.D. Warren #3. I needed something that would hold my interest at the gym because that Stephen King book was pretty boring and long winded. I enjoyed this addition to the series. The interesting thing about these is that the book is more about the victims and less about the detectives. I would recommend this entire series. I’m giving it 3 stars.

6072105

5 Bodies to Die For by Stephanie Bond – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Body Movers #5. These are really cute. They sort of run from one to the next without a break, so you need to read them in order. Carlotta is a store clerk and she moonlights as a body mover. She is involved in a love quadrangle and her brother is a minor criminal. This one felt like a bit of a filler. I’m looking forward to acquiring the next one. I’m giving this 3 stars.

18857785

Keeper of the Bride by Tess Gerritsen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Apparently this was mystery novel week. This is by the author of the Rizzoli and Isles series. It is a detective novel, but it is also a Harlequin romance. A girl is left at the altar and then the church blows up. The bomb inspector sent to the scene obviously falls madly in love with the jilted bride and they have a lot of sex. They also solve the crime. It was thoroughly entertaining. I’m giving it 3 stars.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

