Week 4 – 2015

Another post in the same week! It’s like Christmas! I’m still really behind.

16077150

Instructions for a Heatwave by Maggie O’Farrell – I received this as an actual book via a Goodreads giveaway. I really liked this. Basically, it’s 1976 and there’s a heatwave in London. Everyone is going off the rails. The father has walked off and the family must rally together in order to find him. Skeletons start coming out of the closet and the siblings must work to sort out there own lives while helping their mother. This was really well written and the characters are very likable. I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good story. I’m giving this 4 stars.

17332243

Hild by Nicola Griffith – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. Apparently, this is Hild #1. I struggled through this. It was interesting, but fairly long winded. It is a fictionalized version of the life of Saint Hilda. The author imagines her life based on a few basic facts. It has everything. It was good. It was just too long and overly detailed. I may not have been in the right frame of mind to truly enjoy this. I’m giving it 2 stars.

22521552

Rodin’s Lover by Heather Webb – I received this as an e-book via Penguin’s First to Read program. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well written. I read a lot of historical fiction with artists as the main characters and this one was especially delightful. Rodin has been one of my favorite sculptors since I was a young kid. I’ve been to the Rodin Museum in Paris. Reading a novel about him was obviously appealing to me. Reading about Camille, a great artist in her own right, was enlightening and entertaining. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading historical fiction, especially art related. I’m giving this 4 stars.

17934521

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This is about a group of friends from Wisconsin and the challenges that they face in life. It was okay. I liked the characters. The story just didn’t really go anywhere. It may just not be the sort of book I generally enjoy. I keep running across ads for this book, so the publicity push is obviously pretty extensive. I like the title. I’m giving it 2 stars.

That’s it for today.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

