Week 7 – 2015

Here we go again. I’m still behind, but I started a new job, so I need to get into a routine of sorts. Today we’re doing bribes. If I do a blog post, I can go food shopping, which I definitely need to do.

18753630

Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer – I received this as an actual book from Read It Forward, which is a Random House initiative. Basically, they send a certain number of books to people who enter an online drawing. Once you’re done, you are meant to pass it along to someone else, so if you’re interested in reading this book, let me know and I will send it to you. I really liked this book. This is the story of a family that is trapped in the Dutch East Indies (Indonesia) when the Japanese invaded during World War II. The men and older male children are sent to work camps. The women and children are sent to internment camps. This story is told from the point of view of a ten year old boy that is sent to an internment camp with his mother and younger siblings. It is a story of survival and it tells a story that isn’t often told. I’ve been reading several books that centered around atrocities carried out by the Japanese in various parts of Asia during WWII. This one is especially well written and it is heart wrenching. This is labeled as Christian fiction, and the message is definitely there, but it does not overwhelm the story. I would recommend this to anyone that is interested in WWII fiction, regardless of religious preference. I’m giving this 4 stars.

23154680

Real Elves by Helen Smith – I received a message from the author that this book was available for free on Amazon. It is Emily Castles #5. The 1st book in this series was good so I thought I’d give this a whirl. It’s cute, but it’s a little too easy to figure out the mystery. It’s technically a short story, so clearly I’m not above cheating on my Goodreads goal. I’m giving this 3 stars.

24174356

Purple, Silver, Olive, Orange by Helen Smith – I also downloaded this for free from amazon because I received a message from the author. I think I probably have another one on my kindle, though I downloaded them over the course of several months. I read this one while I was in the middle of a panic about how far behind my Goodreads goal I have become. This one is a little harder to explain. It is set in the future and Sarah has selected all of the traits that she would like in her ideal boyfriend. Despite living up to this list, she considers having him taken away regardless. The plot thickens, but then it all works out in the end. It’s cute. I’m giving it 3 stars.

23209927

At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really enjoyed this book. Basically, Maddie, Ellis and Hank disgrace themselves at a New Year’s party and then decide to go to Scotland and find proof of the Loch Ness monster. It happens to be the middle of World War II. When they reach the inn, they are confronted with the reality of existing in a country at war. Maddie’s life is turned upside down and is irrevocably altered. Ellis and Hank show their true colors and Maddie pitches in to help the locals. Anyone that enjoys a good story would like this. Hopefully this will be made into a movie, preferably without the sparkly vampire. This is getting 4 stars.

21913609

Die Again by Tess Gerritsen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Rizzoli & Isles #11. I’m totally hooked on this series. I not only read the books, but also watch the TV series. The characters have gone down separate paths, but both are highly enjoyable. In this installment, an African safari takes a deadly twist and then 6 years later people start being murdered in Boston. You’ll have to read it. I’m not giving anything away. This is getting 4 stars.

2119530

The Critic by Peter May – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL. It is Enzo Files #2. The foremost wine critic in the world went missing and then his body turns up a year later, strung to a cross. This is another unsolved case that Enzo feels compelled to investigate. It turns out that there are other people that have gone missing and Enzo must figure out the common thread before he also ends up as a victim. This was thoroughly enjoyable, though it wrapped up a bit strangely for my taste. You’ll see what I mean when you read it. I’m giving this 3 stars.

And that’s the end of week 7. Again, I have a lot going on lately, so try to bear with me.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

