Week 8 – 2015

I am so far behind. But I’m really busy, so that’s good.

10635411

Professor Moriarty: The Hound of the D’Urbervilles by Kim Newman – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. It is Sherlock Holmes adjacent, told from the perspective of the bad guys. The narrator is Moriarty’s second in command. It is an interesting concept. Some of the stories were good, but some were boring and most were pretty unoriginal. One chapter reminded me of The Puppet Masters by Heinlein. Overall, I liked it, so it’s getting 3 stars.

7603

Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi – This is an actual book that I purchased a LONG time ago. It has been on my currently reading list for about 2 years. I’m really just psyched to be finished. The good thing about this book is that I was inspired to read books by Jane Austen, Henry James, and Nabokov that I also quite enjoyed. There is also a section about Gatsby, but I’ll leave that to you. Basically, a literature professor from Iran wrote a memoir about life in Tehran and related it back to the books she and her classes were discussing over time. The book is non-linear and she covers many aspects of what life is like, especially for women, during the time period. Because it inspired me, I’m giving it 3 stars.

72753

Bedford Square by Anne Perry – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL. It is Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #19. I am intrigued by this author, mainly because, as a teenager, she and a friend murdered the friend’s mother, were convicted, served time, changed her name, and emigrated from Australia, and went on to have a rather prolific writing career. I liked the book. I may read others in the series. It’s getting 3 stars.

12813936

The Stonecutter by Camilla Lackberg – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Fjallbacka #3. I really like this series. The recurring characters are what keep me coming back to these. The fact that there are so many murders in a tiny resort town in Sweden is pretty laughable, but this is fiction, so we’ll go with it. This one starts with a young child being pulled out of the sea by an old fisherman. Then there was this thing that happened right at the end that made me want to jump straight to the next book. Unfortunately, that one wasn’t available at the library, so I had to join a wait list. This one is getting 4 stars.

8166749

The Curse of the Pharaohs by Elizabeth Peters – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Amelia Peabody #2. Amelia is an amateur sleuth and her husband is an eqyptologist. Because they cannot bear to leave their son Ramses behind in England, they have settled into country life in England. When an old friend arrives at the door and asks Emerson to continue her (murdered) husband’s excavation of a tomb, the temptation is too much to resist. These books are filled with murder and intrigue with a side of archaeology. They’re cute. I’m looking forward to Ramses joining the mix in future books. I’m giving it 3 stars.

That’s it. Moving on…

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

