Week 9 – 2015

As per the norm lately, I’m really behind. This is going to be quick. I probably don’t even remember some of the books. Oops.

6067037

The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I really like this author. I especially liked this book. It is not really part of a series. This is a mix of modern mystery and historical fiction (Boston 1830). There is a mix of grave robbing, early medical history, murder, and emotional drama. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving this 4 stars.

18941562

The Stranger by Camilla Lackberg – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Fjallbacka #4. This has a bunch of random murders and Patrik needs to figure out how they are all connected in order to catch the killer. And there is more drama with Erica’s sister Anna. The drama with Anna is actually the reason I felt compelled to read this so soon after reading The Stonecutter. I really like these, but I almost wish there was more involvement in the story by Erica. She’s my favorite character in the series, but has been somewhat secondary since the first book in the series. I never figure these out until the end. This is getting 4 stars.

1009619

Toy Wars by G. Wayne Miller – I borrowed this as an actual book from a friend that used to work at Hasbro. It is an interesting history of Hasbro. It is a somewhat old book (in terms of business publications anyway), and it is quite out of date. I liked it. It was ok. You might like it if you’re interested in the toy industry. I’m giving it 2 stars.

6623327

The Mummy Case by Elizabeth Peters – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Amelia Peabody #3. These are really cute. It’s a mix of archaeology, historical fiction, and mystery / detective novel. I definitely recommend this series. I’m excited to see what they come up with next. I find all of the characters to be quite amusing and I am looking forward to seeing what Ramses gets up to next. I’m giving this 3 stars.

That’s it for week 9. I’ll be back soon with the next installment.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

