Week 11 – 2015

I need to start writing posts more often or I will always be completely behind…. That said, here is Week 11.

21914071

Solomon’s Bride by Rebecca Hazell – I won this as an actual book in a Goodreads giveaway. This is The Tiger and the Dove #2. I didn’t read the first book. That is my first confession regarding my rating. It took me almost 200 pages to get into this (that’s the other confession). ~200 and on, this is a great story. If you can get there. If you loved the first one, go for it. Otherwise, I’d either give it a pass or start at page 150 and go from there. I gave it 3 stars because I did eventually really get into it. If you like a challenge, go for it. Better yet, read book 1 and you’ll probably be more into it than I was. I’m giving this 3 stars, because I did end up liking it at the end.

20821239

Blue Horses by Mary Oliver – I won this as an actual book in a sweepstakes held by Penguin (I think). It definitely came in the mail. That sounds brilliant, right? I fill out a lot of forms on the Internet and then I forget about them and then later random stuff appears in the mail. Why did I fill out a form for poetry books? Did I know they were poetry when I did it? I’m not much of a poetry fan, but this was definitely enjoyable. I’m giving this 3 stars.

16115612

And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini – I actually bought this book. In hardcover. And got it signed by the author when he came to Boston (Cambridge, actually) on his book tour. It was an awesome experience. I’m a book geek and some of the authors I really like are like celebrities to other people. Or star athletes, or whatever else you might be into. So then this book sat on my shelf for about a year and a half. I wasn’t in a rush to read it. I knew it was there and had the author’s signature in it, sitting there on a special shelf with all of my other signed books, like a treasure. What actually prompted me to read this was that it was picked by my book club as a monthly selection. Hosseini’s books are epic stories about what life is like in Afghanistan. I thought his other 2 books were amazing, and this one is nearly as good. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And I guess that’s it for Week 11.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 11 – 2015

  1. Pingback: Week 12 – 2015 | Vanessa's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

