Week 12 – 2015

In the push to get caught up, I’m at least starting another post. Here goes Week 12….

I am officially the worst blogger ever. It has taken me weeks to finish this.

13588404

A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver – I received this as an actual book from a Penguin sweepstakes (possibly). This book came in the mail with 2 other books. I already posted in Week 11 about Blue Horses. I don’t know a lot about poetry. I do know when I like something, however. I’m not usually into poetry, but I quite enjoyed this one. I’m giving this 4 stars.

21064599

Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is Shopaholic #7. In this installment, Becky and Brandon are in LA, where Brandon has a new job as a career manager to a movie star. It’s amusing at times. Becky gets into her normal scrapes and all around ridiculousness. This character sometimes comes off as being astoundingly selfish, but she generally sees the error of her ways at the end. This is getting 3 stars.

18209341

I Don’t Know What You Know Me From by Judy Greer – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. She read it herself. I love that. I really like this actress anyway, so this wasn’t a hard sell. Even her Sprint commercials are good, and I don’t really like commercials. I’m giving this 4 stars. Huge props to anyone that reads their own books.

17707772

Dog Songs by Mary Oliver – This is another one that appeared in the mail. I really liked this. The poet writes odes to her favorite dogs. It’s quite adorable. I’m giving it 4 stars.

1434105

Plum Lucky by Janet Evanovich – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. It is Stephanie Plum #13.5. It also has Diesel from the Wicked series. Ironically, I started listening to this on St. Patrick’s Day. It is really fucking funny. I highly recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

18695272

The Care and Management of Lies by Jacqueline Winspear – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I loved this book. It’s basically about a bunch of people who really care about each other. When The Great War (as it was known then) begins, they all communicate in letters in which they all lie their butts off so that none of them know how completely terrible each others lives are. Except, deep down, they know the truth but the love they all feel for each other is stronger than the reality that they are faced with. This is totally impossible to describe. Just read it. I’m giving it 5 stars. This is from the author of the Maisie Dobbs series and it is just completely different and totally amazing all on its own.

23379418

The Shepherdess of Siena by Linda Lafferty – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really enjoyed this. A young girl falls in love with horses and, later, the women that ride them. Her dream is to ride in the Palio. Girls do not ride in the Palio. That doesn’t stop Virginia from dreaming. She learns to ride in secret. When she is discovered, she acquires a benefactress. You’ll have to read it to find out the rest of the story. You will not be disappointed. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Done. Finally.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

