Week 13 – 2015

Starting a new one….

3400816

Plum Spooky by Janet Evanovich – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Stephanie Plum #14.5. This is another Stephanie Plum and Diesel book. It’s really funny. I was listening to it at work while working on spreadsheets and it was really hard not to laugh right out loud. I’m giving it 4 stars.

21787

The Princess Bride by William Goldman – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This was very funny. But honestly, the movie was better. I’m giving it 3 stars.

18295858

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was a book club pick. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so I’m glad that I recommended it. Her book Rooms was brilliant, so she’s one of my new favorite authors. This book is a novelization of an unsolved murder that happened in San Francisco in 1876. It is based on real people from newspaper articles from the time. I thought this was an interesting premise. I highly recommend it. It’s getting 4 stars.

7159515

Still Missing by Chevy Stevens – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was truly brilliant. This is the story of Annie. She is kidnapped from an open house she was hosting. The story goes back and forth between the story of the year she was missing and the time afterward, meeting with her shrink and getting on with her life, while the police are trying to find the identity of her captor. So obviously, she gets away, but how? This was really well written and I like the way that it flowed. I may have found another favorite author. I’m giving this one 5 stars.

50839

Podkayne of Mars by Robert A. Heinlein – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Norwood Public Library. I loved Heinlein as a kid, but I don’t remember having ever read this one. Podkayne is a girl living on Mars. It’s cute. It’s a little out dated, but still enjoyable. Apparently, Heinlein never envisioned digital photography. I’m giving it 3 stars.

18209290

Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Honestly, though this was definitely on my wish list, I decided to read this when I saw a picture of Sarah Jessica Parker reading it at a basketball game (instead of watching the game). That’s what compelled me to download it. SJP was doing it, so I decided to do it. This is about ballet and reminded me of the movie The Turning Point. If you have any interest in ballet, I definitely recommend this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

That’s it. Week 13 done.

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 13 – 2015

  1. Pingback: Week 7 – 2016 | Vanessa's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Week 20 – 2016 | Vanessa's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

