Week 14 – 2015

Here goes Week 14…. I’m so far behind, both with the blog and with my Goodreads goal. As usual, all of the holds I have put on books from the library have been coming all at once, so I’m also really behind on reading the books that I have been sent for review.

1363512

Under the Streets of Nice by Ken Follett and Rene L Maurice – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. Apparently, it was read by Roddy McDowall, which I didn’t realize at the time. Having grown up in the ’80s, I remember him as the butler from Overboard and the March Hare from Alice in Wonderland, but enough about that. This is a non-fiction account of a bank heist in Nice. It’s quite entertaining. I never knew about this. Called the “most lucrative, ingenious robbery in history.” I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

9476308

Vaclav and Lena by Haley Tanner – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is about 2 children of Russian immigrants. Vaclav as very strong, hardworking parents who love him and care about him a great deal. Lena is an orphan, living with her aunt. They meet as young children and Vaclav’s mother makes sure that Lena has the things that she needs. When Lena disappears, Vaclav does not understand what has happened. They meet again years later, and I basically liked this book because I liked the way that it ended. It’s getting 4 stars. This is less a story about immigrants and more about caring about other people.

23281944

Day Shift by Charlaine Harris – I received this as an e-book from Penguin via the First to Read program. It is Midnight, Texas #2. I really liked this. Charlaine Harris has taken minor characters from her vast repertoire of series and centered a new series around them. You never know which characters might turn up. If you’re a Charlaine Harris fan, you will definitely enjoy these. I am, and I do. Even if you aren’t familiar with her other books, these stand on their own ground. I would classify these as supernatural mysteries. They are definitely different and quite entertaining. This is also getting 4 stars.

69638

Looking for Rachel Wallace by Robert B. Parker – I borrowed this as an audio book from the BPL. This is Spenser #6. In this installment, Spenser is hire as a body guard for a woman author who seems to hate men. She fires him and then goes missing. Spenser needs to find out what happened to her. He was hired to protect her and he must follow through. This whole series is just really good. This one is getting 4 stars.

15774215

Clovenhoof by Heide Goody and Iain Grant – I got this for free from amazon.com via an email from BookBub. It is Clovenhoof #1. Basically, Satan is fired from his job in Hell and sent to Earth. Chaos ensues. This is really very funny. I found myself laughing out loud pretty often. I’m giving it 3 stars. It was funny, but I don’t feel compelled to continue the series.

And that’s it for week 14. On to the next thing….

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

