Week 15 – 2015

And we’re on to the next thing….

18968893

6 Killer Bodies by Stephanie Bond – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Body Movers #6. This continues the story of Carlotta Wren. Honestly, just start with the first one and keep reading. It’s a continuous story. They generally end with a cliff hanger. This one is getting 3 stars.

25106362

Come Winter by Clare Gutierez – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really liked this book. The main character is a very likable heroine. She is constantly running and trying to escape. When she is not in the midst of a cross country flight, she cares for the people around her and sees things differently from others. Actually, she does all of that during her attempts to flee as well. The story is epic and has a fast pace. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving this 4 stars.

20515354

The Death Factory by Greg Iles – I got this for free from amazon.com after receiving an email from the publisher that it was on sale. This is Penn Cage #3.5. I liked it. It was a really quick read. It’s getting 3 stars.

18455487

Isabella: Braveheart of France by Colin Falconer – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I truly enjoyed this book. Isabella was a princess of France, married to King Edward of England as part of a peace negotiation. It is hard to imagine a time when daughters were seen as assets to be used in order to gain advantages. Isabella was tasked with the duty of loving a king, regardless of anything that might occur, including the lack of returned favor from her husband. Obviously, these were real people and real situations. History comes alive in this novel. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about this princess and later queen, of whom I knew very little. The novel is well written and has a very steady pace. I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys a bit of historical fiction or perhaps even just anyone who likes strong women characters. I found myself turning on the text to speak option so that I could continue with the story even when I was on the move. It really draws you in. I’m giving it 4 stars.

23281845

The House of Hawthorne by Erica Robuck – I received this from the publisher as an e-book via NetGalley. This was really good. It tells the story of Nathaniel Hawthorne and his family from the perspective of Sophia Peabody, who would later become his wife. I love these types of novels. I like learning about authors and other historical figures in this manner because someone else did the research and turned it into a coherent story. On a side note, I happened to be in Salem yesterday, at the Peabody Essex Museum, and happened to see a rather famous portrait of the author. It was sort of funny, being that I was in the middle of reading the book and had no idea that the portrait was there. I should have taken a picture for my blog, but I didn’t think of it at the time. Back to the book… this was really well written and quite entertaining. Even if you are not that interested in reading his books, I would definitely recommend reading this. Actually, I think everyone should read The Scarlet Letter at least once, but that’s just my opinion. I’m also giving this 4 stars.

And the problem with writing reviews on NetGalley is that I end up requesting more books. I managed 3 NetGalley reviews this week and ended up requesting 2 more titles.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

