Week 16 – 2015

Here we go again. This is what I read during week 16.

13579626

Rooms by Lauren Oliver – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is a ghost story. Sort of. An estranged family returns home to deal with their father’s death. There are other, older ghosts living in the house as well. A girl is missing. The mother is an alcoholic. The teenage son is awkward and lonely. I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

20695981

Texts from Jane Eyre by Mallory Ortberg – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Imagine your favorite literary characters with cell phones, texting each other. It’s a cute concept. Some of it was even really funny. After a while, however, it seemed sort of disrespectful. And this is coming from someone who thought Pride and Prejudice and Zombies was better than the original, so clearly I have an open mind for this sort of thing. Again, some of it was funny, but a lot of it sort of rubbed me the wrong way. Overall, it was okay and I’m giving it 2 stars.

20821276

The Barter by Siobhan Adcock – I received this as an actual book from Shelf Awareness. This is a really good ghost story. It really sucks you right in. Bridget is a new stay at home mom and she and the baby start seeing a ghost in the house. What does the ghost want? How can she keep her baby safe? I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good story, especially ghost stories. I’m giving it 3 stars. I liked it enough that when I was donating books to the BPL earlier today, I set this one aside to give to one of my aunts. That’s a good recommendation right there.

6653241

The Lion in the Valley by Elizabeth Peters – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Amelia Peabody #4. These are just adorable. They mix a murder mystery with archaeology, specifically Egyptology. I like them. They are really amusing. I love the main characters. I’m giving this installment 3 stars.

And that’s it for week 16. It’s sad, but it feels like 4 books is a slow week. I suppose I had other stuff going on. 🙂

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

