Week 17 – 2015

We’ve made it to week 17! I’m still far behind. It’s June and week 17 covers 4/20 – 4/26. If I just keep posting, hopefully I’ll just get caught up eventually.

9649388

Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer – I borrowed this as en e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Survivors #1. I got this off of a list of post-apocalyptic lit to read after The Hunger Games or Divergent. I can’t remember which at this point. These have been sitting in my library to read list for a long time. In this book, a meteor is about to hit the moon. It ends up knocking the moon closer to Earth. Obviously, this affects the tides and causes all sorts of weather disturbances. Volcanoes erupt, covering the sky in ash. Viruses run rampant. Food is hard to find and impossible to grow. I definitely recommend this. It is told as the journal entries of a teen. I liked the format. I’m giving this 4 stars. Clearly I liked this because I went on to read the other 3 books in the series.

22041268

King of the World by Randall Coleman – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This was good. It had a lot of interesting ideas. Basically, a corporation of sorts (maybe a holding company is a better description) decides to elect a king of the world in order to solve all of the problems of the world. Obviously, the current governments and all of the corresponding politicians aren’t terribly keen on the idea. So they do a tour of the world and various governments attempt to assassinate the proposed future king. If you aren’t too keen on the way the world is run currently, this is the book for you. I’m giving it 3 stars.

324878

Witches, Rakes, and Rogues: True Stories of Scam, Scandal, Murder, and Mayhem in Boston, 1630 – 1775 by D. Brenton Simons – I actually bought this as an actual book years ago, put it on my bookshelf, and left it there. My mother was in town and we saw this in a shop along our travels on the Freedom Trail, possibly either the shop associated with the Old North Church or the one at Paul Revere’s house. These are places you should see. Skip paying for the “tour” of Paul Revere’s house. Seeing it from the outside is free and quite gratifying all on its own. I bought this on amazon.com when I was purchasing a pair of shoes that I really wanted. I used my gift card credit for both. The book is interesting. It basically entails the major Boston scandals from colonial times. This is stuff you probably wouldn’t find elsewhere. It must have taken a great deal of research. It was interesting and I liked it, but I’d probably only recommend it to people who live in Boston or who spend a lot of time there. The stories are easier to imagine if you’re familiar with the sites. I’m giving it 3 stars.

10053149

Graceling by Kristin Cashore – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Graceling Realm #1. This is YA fantasy. It is quite wonderful. It’s beautiful, really. This author is quite magical. She really paints the story. You feel like you’re right there. Plus the heroine totally kicks ass. I love a strong, unconventional female lead character. You should read it. I’m giving it 4 stars. Actually, right now, I’m reading the third book and I hope these keep coming.

1137215

The Boneshaker by Cherie Priest – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Clockwork Century #1. This is impossible to describe. It’s like a re-imagined, steam-punk version of Seattle in the 1850s. You should read it and tell me what you think of it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

6931356

The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. The title is harsh, but it is really an examination of how we see ourselves and others and perhaps how we can change that and feel better about ourselves. What if a guy you barely knew walked up to you and said something unkind to you? The person knows nothing about you other than how you look and who you hang out with. But you also have preconceived notions about this person, mostly based on appearance and rumor. It totally sucked me in. I think I read it in a day. Initially, I wanted to read this because there was a movie coming out. I no longer want to see the movie in fear that it will ruin the book. I’m giving this 4 stars.

6 books. Done.

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 17 – 2015

  1. Pingback: Week 7- 2017 | Vanessa's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

