Week 19 – 2015

Here we go again….

10776

Green Hills of Africa by Ernest Hemingway – This was a book that I owned. I have since donated it to the local library book sale. I hope someone wants to read it and decides to contribute to the fund raiser. This is non-fiction. It is the account of Hemingway’s big game hunting in Africa. So many of these species are now endangered that it is actually really hard to read this. I think you would probably have to be really into hunting or just have an intense interest from a historical perspective in order to enjoy this book. I’m giving it 2 stars. And good riddance.

22557272

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – I borrowed this from a friend who had borrowed it from another friend who borrowed it from work. It was a book club pick and I probably would have read it eventually, but honestly this had too much hype. Everyone is reading this book. When I joined the wait list for this at the library, there were about 800 people in front of me. Yuck. Anyway, so this is about a bunch of people who need to get their shit together and a murder. You might like it. I’m giving it 2 stars.

22716194

Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova – I received this from the publisher as an e-book via NetGalley. This book was great. It explores a family’s journey dealing with Huntington’s Disease. At times it’s funny and it’s often very sad. If there was a chance that your genes carried an incurable disease, would you want to know? The family struggles with their faith as well. Actually, I believe the author covers every possible issue and addresses them all in some manner. It’s really well written and the characters are amazing and easy to relate to you. It’s not often that I find a book where I genuinely care about what happens to the characters. This just sucks you right in. This is getting 5 stars.

6493208

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. It was a book club pick. Another member suggested it and I agreed immediately that we should read it. This is non-fiction, written by a reporter, examining the HeLa cells and their impact on medical advancement, but also the story of Henrietta and her children. It is really well written. The author is admirably neutral in the telling of this incredible story. I definitely recommend reading it. I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

18052969

The Confidence Code by Katty Kay & Claire Shipman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I attended a round table discussion of the book as part of Women’s Week at work. I had requested it from the library, but was still on the wait list when the discussion took place. I really liked the book. It basically incites women to have more confidence and take more risks. It discusses the differences between men and women and focuses on changes women need to make in order to be more confident and succeed in the workplace. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I feel inspired. After reading this, I got back into my old habit of reading management and business books in an effort toward self-improvement. I’m giving this 5 stars.

That’s it for Week 19!

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

