Week 21 – 2015

And we’re off to the races….

8205523

Fire by Kristin Cashore – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Graceling Realm #2. These books are sort of related. Some of the characters overlap. This one is about Fire, a “monster” with magical powers. She struggles with the fear that her power will go to her head and make her like her father. These are gripping and beautifully written. I’m giving this one 4 stars.

23350066

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I thought this book was amazing. Finch and Violet meet on the top of the bell tower at school. Finch is fascinated by death. Violet is mourning the recent death of her sister. It’s unclear exactly who saves whom on that day (Please excuse my grammar. I skipped a grade in English and it may have been when they taught some of the important stuff.). Anyway, the two become friends right when they each need a friend the most. I’m not going to spoil this, but make sure that you have a box of tissues nearby (or a dirty t-shirt, whatever). I’m giving this 5 stars.

3462

The Rescue by Nicholas Sparks – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I liked this. It’s not as heart wrenching as some of his novels, though it was quite upsetting when the boy was lost in the beginning. Basically, Tucker is afraid to get close to anyone. He swoops in and rescues damsels in distress and then leaves as soon as they are back on their feet. Again, I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

10360139

Cinderella Ate My Daughter by Peggy Orenstein – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It was really quite interesting. It talks about the princess culture and how it evolved into the scariness that it is today. By scary, obviously I mean obnoxious. This book was mentioned in Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. This is not something I would have been interested in or even happened upon otherwise. My trek through business books continues. I’m giving this 3 stars, because I felt that I learned a lot from it, but the knowledge may not be terribly relevant to me.

18282917

Girl Missing by Tess Gerritsen – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I really like this author and I quite enjoy her books. I feel like I am always waiting for the next installment of Rizzoli and Isles. I only vaguely remember this book. There is a dead body and a man is trying to find his wayward step daughter. I’m giving it 3 stars.

Week 21. Sorted.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

