Week 23 – 2015

So the list of books continues…. I’m 27 books behind my Goodreads goal. My cube-mate suggested that I should start reading picture books. I also have way too many library books and other books from NetGalley. In the hopes of getting my NetGalley percentage under control, I also need to get the blog up to date. And off we go….

8139008

A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Bess Crawford #1. Charles Todd is actually a pseudonym for a mother and son team. These are really well written, so clearly the team is working. Bess is given a rather cryptic message by a dying soldier to his brother. When Bess meets the family and delivers the message, the message does not appear to mean anything to the brother. Bess must solve the murder of a housemaid in order to discover the truth. I definitely enjoyed this. I’m giving it 3 stars.

20417

Have Space Suit – Will Travel by Robert A. Heinlein – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. It is a full cast production. I love these. Heinlein was also a genius storyteller. I read this as a kid and it is still great. I’m giving it 4 stars.

1103

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was a book club pick. I love this author. I definitely recommend reading this. It is historical fiction based in China. It is really well researched. I learned a lot. I’m giving it 4 stars.

4583488

Crazy Hair by Neil Gaiman – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This is a short, incredibly cute poem read by the author. I would recommend listening to anything that this guy reads. I’m giving this 3 stars.

13188729

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Graceling Realm #3. This was really well written, extensively imagined, and just a really great story. All of this series is thoroughly enjoyable and I sort of hope that she writes more of them. This ties in all of the previous stories, but especially Graceling. I highly recommend these. I’m giving this installment 4 stars.

10335308

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. I love when authors read their own books. There is an added bonus to actually hearing their voices. Mindy Kaling is very funny, though I’m not overly familiar with her work. I found the part about writing for SNL for a summer especially amusing. I would definitely recommend this to Mindy Kaling fans and I would especially recommend listening to her read the audiobook. I’m giving this 3 stars.

Done.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

