Week 24 – 2015

Confession time!

Goodreads update: I  will never meet the ridiculous 300 books in a year goal. I’m fessing up now.

Books in my possession: I have more books in my grubby little hands than I can possibly ever read. And I keep putting new ones on hold at the library. It’s a sickness. I just received 2 new ones in the mail this week.

The poor blog: I’m over a month behind on blog posts. Maybe I just don’t have enough time to read everything under the sun, work, and post things to the blog. I also need to take surveys, run a book club, hang out with friends, support political causes, volunteer, exercise, and watch a couple of tv shows. I’m busy. And I never clean my apartment. I just don’t invite people over.

Confession done. Let’s get started on the actual post.

760984

Mirrormask by Neil Gaiman – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is a novella and, in my opinion, entirely too short. This is not read by Neil Gaiman himself, as the narrator is a girl. Neil Gaiman is a master story teller and everything that he puts out is simply wonderful. His imagination is awe inspiring. I’m giving this 3 stars.

19428104

Real Happiness at Work by Sharon Salzberg – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is part of the management book push that I’ve been on. This book was mentioned in The Confidence Code. It is about meditation and mindfulness in the workplace. It was very good and it gives you a lot to think about. I’m giving it 3 stars.

231604

Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Temperance Brennan #1. When I received #18 in the mail, I figured it must be about time to start reading this series. It’s really popular and there is always a waitlist for these. I did not expect this to be set in Montreal. Especially since the TV show (Bones) takes place in D.C. Though I suppose that I do understand the setting change. There are actually a lot of differences. Tempe is divorced and has a college age daughter, for example. I really enjoy mystery novels and I am excited about actually reading this series. I cannot believe that there are 18 of them, but whatever. One down, 17 to go. I’m giving this 3 stars.

23014603

Those Girls by Chevy Stevens – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This book was outstanding. I really like this author and this book lived up to my impression. 3 teen girls living in rural Canada are abused by their father and each dream of escaping to a better life. Of course, things with their father escalate and they are forced to flee. When their truck breaks down, they encounter 2 brothers who claim that they will help them. What happens next is up to the girls. Will they be able to fight back? Who will turn out to be the strongest or do they need each other to survive? Not everyone survives this compelling novel that you will not be able to put down. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoyed Gillian Flynn’s novels (not just Gone Girl). I would also recommend other books by this author. I’m giving this one 5 stars.

And I guess that’s it. I’m about to be late to dinner with my book club friends.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

