Week 25 – 2015

I will get caught up. On something.

20646683

Rogue Wave by Jennifer Donnelly – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is Waterfire Saga #2. It is young adult and it’s about mermaids. Yes. Mermaids. I love this author so much that I am willing to read books about mermaids. That’s how totally awesome she is. I not only read the first in the series, but continued on to the second book. My sister and I actually discussed this yesterday and I recommended the series to her, despite the mermaids. I think that our mother discovered this author when she was doing a book tour for her first book A Northern Light. I recommend reading absolutely anything that she writes. They are all fantastic, even the mermaid series (which sort of kicks butt, actually). I’m giving this one 4 stars.

23012480

Wicked Charms by Janet Evanovich and Phoef Sutton – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Lizzy & Diesel #3. This is a fun, quick read. I really enjoy the characters. This one is about the hunt for the third deadly sin stone. This one is avarice or greed. I found myself with a list of places in Salem that I need to look into and explore further. While this wasn’t quite as funny as the other books in the series, it was still thoroughly entertaining. I’m giving it 3 stars.

23164968

Pirate Hunters by Robert Kurson – I received this as an actual book from a Random House sweepstakes. I follow Random House on Facebook and I end up with a surprising number of these. This was good. It is a true story of divers seeking a pirate ship off the coast of the Dominican Republic. They use historical accounts and their vast knowledge and experience to find a ship that has been lost for centuries. They face many setbacks, both political and monetary, along the way. It’s a true adventure story. It was really interesting. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And I guess that’s it for Week 25. Mermaids, magic, and pirate hunters. I am all over the place.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

