Week 27 – 2015

I’m just going to jump right in….

23995231

Circling the Sun by Paula McLain – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really liked this. This is the novelization of the life of Beryl Markham. She was a record breaking aviator and friends of the author of Out of Africa. This is the story of a fearless woman who didn’t let gender act as a barrier to her aspirations. I would recommend this to anyone who likes historical fiction as well as strong female role models. It almost makes me want to read Out of Africa in order to learn more about this group. I’m giving it 4 stars.

24961498

The Midwife’s Revolt by Jodi Daynard – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. Actually, I am auto approved for this publisher, so I just randomly select books that I think I would like and I don’t even have to wait around for the approval. I really enjoyed this book. It’s historical fiction set during the American Revolution, it takes place in the Boston environs, and Abigail Adams is one of the main characters. How could you possibly go wrong? It is incredibly well researched and well written. I felt like I learned things. This is just a really great story and I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

20485770

Thrive by Arianna Huffington – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. It is part of the management push. It may be the last one, actually. I ended up with quite a bit of non-fiction that I want to plow through before continuing. This woman is really impressive and quite great role model material. I also had no idea that she grew up in Greece. She is really quite accomplished. She has written several other books and obviously is head of the online newspaper Huffington Post, which has become huge in the last 10 years. This inspired me and I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

12357329

Catch Me by Lisa Gardner – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Detective D.D. Warren #6. I really enjoyed this installment in the series. It makes me a little sad that there isn’t another one ready to go. There is a #7 that is out, but it was actually the first one that I read and further inspired me to go back and read the rest of the series. I absolutely devoured this. In this novel, Charlene is expecting to be murdered on a specific day. She asks D.D. for help, if not to save her, at least to find the killer after the fact. It’s really good. How do you know who to trust when you know for certain that whoever killed her friends were let in the door willingly? Everyone becomes a suspect. I really liked it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

How is that for a really wide range of subjects?

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

