Week 28 – 2015

I am back from vacation. Did you miss me?

6608562

Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. It was a book club pick. I found it on a list of books about prostitution. Another book club member had me read the synopsis. We got to the word cross-dressing in the second sentence, she said, “Let’s read that one.” And things spiraled downward from there. I subsequently saw it on a list of best lesbian literature and my next thought was, “fuck me.” I have been banned from picking the books in book club. This is a really great book. It’s historical fiction set in London at the turn of the 20th century. It is really well written and the main character is easy to relate to. There are also some really explicit lesbian sex scenes. It’s best to keep an open mind. I would also like to point out that everyone in book club read the book as well as the husband of one of the members. They weren’t really traumatized. I just shocked them a bit. They’ll be over it in a couple of months. I’m giving it 5 stars because I thought it was fucking fantastic.

A Darker Shade final for Irene

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was really quite good. It is YA fantasy and it is the first in a series. It is hard to describe this one. Basically, there are different Londons existing on different planes. Each has a different level of magic. The magic is trying to take over all of the worlds. Black London has been sealed off and it is trying to escape. There are Travellers that are the only ones with the ability to pass between worlds. I’m not doing this justice. Just check it out if you like YA fantasy (and who doesn’t?). I’m giving it 4 stars.

What could I have possibly been doing that I only finished 2 books? Both of these were sort of long, but still.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

