Week 30 – 2015

Here comes another installment of what the bookaholic has been reading.

25191538

Mrs. Roosevelt’s Confidante by Susan Elia MacNeal – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Maggie Hope #5. I am totally hooked on this series. It is well written. The characters are easy to relate to. They’re exciting and engaging. The plots move quickly. My only complaint is that they are entirely too short and it is absolute torture to have to wait for these to come out. They are incredibly well researched. Though I guess they would have to be since they are based on real people and need to be believable. The amount of detail is always astounding. She even manages to incorporate the famous pets into the story line. Though, how could you go wrong with a Scottie named Fala? Read this one or read them all. You will not be disappointed. I’m giving it 4 stars.

20980987

The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This has to be the best audiobook ever. She reads it herself and there’s music. I’m a huge fan. I’ve seen her perform. I love when she busts out the ukulele and does Radiohead covers. When she tells stories about Neil Gaiman, her husband, it warms my heart a bit (I love him quite a lot as well). She talks about performing as a gift and asking for help as a gift in return. She explains the Kickstarter/Crowdfunding process. She is the queen of crowdfunding. She is also brutally honest about negative criticism and how it feels to receive it. I just loved this book. She is an inspiration to us all. I’m giving it 5 enormous, sparkly stars.

25124095

Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is not the sort of book I expect from Tess Gerritsen. In a good way. Julia buys a book of music in Rome that includes a loose, never published waltz. When she takes it home and plays it, Julia blacks out, only to regain awareness and find that something horrific has occurred. She must find out more about the composer, so she and a friend travel to Venice, only to be pursued by an influential family that would prefer to keep its secrets buried. It is a thriller and a mystery and a love story all wrapped into a neat little package. Will anyone survive? Who will have a happy ending? I could not put this down. I highly recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

22706899

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Red Queen #1. I really enjoyed this book. You can tell that this author studied to be a screenwriter. It plays out like a movie. It is very well written and easy to visualize. This is YA fantasy. I’m giving it 4 stars. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

And that’s it for Week 30.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

