Week 31 – 2015

Week 31 looks promising….

23398606

Alice by Christina Henry – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I had never heard of the author and requested it mostly because of the cover, but also because of the Alice in Wonderland reference. This was a super interesting take on Alice in Wonderland. It’s really dark and twisted. Not for the faint of heart. There is death and assault and human trafficking and over-sized rodents forced to fight in matches against humans. There’s a mermaid and some magicians. Oh, and they have to find a blade to defeat the Jabberwocky, but to get it, Alice and Hatch need to battle enemies, stay alive, and confront their own pasts. I sort of loved it. It would make a great Scyfy TV movie (I love those, so definitely a compliment in case you were wondering.). Since reading this, I saw a friend post about it on Facebook, apparently it had been recommended to him (and I agreed), by a friend of his that turned out to be the author’s husband, and an interesting convo. They both live in Chicago and I happened to be in RI at the time. I thought this was all very cool. It just proves that the Internet has made the world a very small place and also facilitates interpersonal communications. I thought it was neat. I’m done geeking out about how much I love the Internet. About the book, I’m giving it 4 stars and I’m crossing my fingers for a sequel. My friend (who somehow knows the author’s husband) also really liked the book and encouraged me to try her other series.

12359568

Matched by Ally Condie – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Matched #1. I think these are probably going to be quite addicting. This is YA dystopian fiction. Basically, Cassia is accidentally matched with 2 different boys. She loves Xander, but slowly begins to love Ky more, except he has an undesirable status, so a match with him is not possible. This book is impossible to describe without sounding ridiculous. It is fairly typical dystopian fiction, the characters are well written, and the plot will hook you in, even if it’s just to find out what happens. I’m giving this 4 stars, mainly because I feel compelled to read the next in the series.

21844019

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Don Tillman #2. I really enjoyed this. Some of my friends were really disappointed. I think that I like Don so much that he sort of offsets how much I dislike Rosie at times. Rosie can be extremely selfish. Don is hilarious and I love how he interacts with the world around him. This was not as laugh out loud funny as the first book. As for the plot, Rosie is pregnant and hilarity ensues. That’s my synopsis and I’m sticking with it. It’s getting 4 stars, because apparently that is how we’re rolling today.

12868761

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I thought it was hilarious and couldn’t put it down. I just lost about 20 minutes of my life reading other people’s reviews of this on Goodreads. People either love this book or they hate it. I thought it was really fucking funny and quite enjoyable. I happen to follow her blog on Facebook, so I knew some of these stories. The first time I encountered The Bloggess was a post about a giant metal chicken. The blog post is even better than the shortened version in the book. I laughed so hard there were tears. I’ve been sort of hooked since then.  So maybe I’m biased. Maybe I don’t care. I also don’t think city folk are likely to get all of the jokes (e.g. arm condoms). I’m giving it 5 stars.

And that’s it. To sum it up, we have a very dark Alice, YA dystopia, Sheldon Cooper like awkward, and hicks from Texas. I’m feeling surprisingly well-rounded.

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

