Week 38 – 2015

I am determined to get caught up on this. I’m also doing my Christmas shopping and planning an adventure with my mum that includes going to the 2016 World Figure Skating Championships. Are you jealous yet? I am also going to VT w/ a friend in March, which I may begin trying to plan for earlier than normal.

128759

Fatal Voyage by Kathy Reichs – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. It is Temperance Brennan #4. These are always good. In this one, there is a plane crash in North Carolina that Brennan must investigate. Of course, there are extra bodies and someone is trying to sabotage the investigation, specifically questioning Brennan’s integrity. You’ll like it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

12019319

Love in a Nutshell by Janet Evanovich and Dorien Kelly – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. It is Culhane Family #1. This book is ridiculous. It is adorable and you just want to hug half of the characters. There is a mystery, there is romance, and it is pretty funny at times. I just love this author. It’s pretty cheesy, but I’m going to recommend it anyway. I’m giving it 3 stars.

10552338

Reamde by Neal Stephenson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. And then there was this tome…. I have had this on my library wish list since the beginning of time (or at least since I moved to Boston). This book is enormous. And every single minute that you spend reading it is totally worth it. It’s fast paced and it sucks you right in. I would recommend this to anyone that likes a good story, but specifically to anyone that’s even mildly interested in computers. I do not know whether this will stand the test of time, but it is very good considering where technology is currently. I’m not sure that makes sense. It is modern now, and hopefully it will stay that way because it is extremely well written. I’m giving it 4 stars.

23014695

Torn by Avery Hastings – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really liked this. It is the second in the Feuds series. The story loosely based on Romeo & Juliet continues. Davis has been quarantined and has to find a way home. Cole needs money to reunite with Davis, who believes that he is dead. The saga continues. I love it. On another note, I have no idea where the next book might be bound. Maybe they’ll stumble across some drugs and have a midsummer night’s eve. Just kidding. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys any of the following: YA fiction, post-apocalyptic fiction, Shakespeare re-imaginings, love stories, so basically anything. If you like books, read this, but start with Feuds. I’m giving it 4 stars.

20170296

Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by NPH – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I read it cover to cover. The format is not very compatible with the format he used. I do not think that hurt my opinion of the book, however. I have a feeling that a lot of people read it from beginning to end. Who  would want to miss something? So NPH, very clever, but none of us were tricked. I saw NPH on Broadway as the MC in Cabaret and I have absolutely adored him ever since. So I’m biased. I loved Doogie Howser, but Cabaret really took it over the edge for me. It’s a great memoir and he hits a lot of topics. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s it. 5 for Week 38. I’m just surprised that I read anything other than Reamde. You’d think I’d need a break after that one….

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

