Week 39 – 2015

And here we go with Week 39. I am determined to get caught up before the end of the year, which is swiftly closing in.

25813007

The Traitor by Sydney Horler – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This was really great. I guess the writing was on the wall about the Germans before WWII even happened, as this was originally published before the war. This is really well written and I am surprised that this author is no longer popular. This is a great spy novel, written before the genre really existed. I was really impressed. I’m giving it 4 stars.

281350

Grave Secrets by Kathy Reichs – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Temperance Brennan #5. I liked this one it takes place in Guatemala 20 years after a genocide. Their goal is to recover the bodies and provide closure for the families of the missing. Tempe gets pulled into some more current murders while she is there. It’s is good. I like this series. I’m giving this one 3 stars.

24688276

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I really liked this and I don’t want to give it all away. Basically, Ani seems to have it all, but there is a dark secret in her past that is threatening to derail her future. You’ll like it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

6420

Visions of Sugar Plums by Janet Evanovich – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Stephanie Plum #8.5. I believe this is the first appearance of Diesel. These are hilarious. Obviously, this one has a Christmas theme. I read it in an afternoon and it was highly entertaining. I’m giving it 3 stars.

15793075

The Husband List by Janet Evanovich and Dorien Kelly – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This is Culhane Family #2. It’s cute. Set in NYC at the turn of the 19th century, it’s the story of Caroline whose mother is trying to find a suitable match for her, except Caroline has other plans in mind. I liked it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

6419

Plum Lovin’ by Janet Evanovich – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Stephanie Plum #12.5. This is another of the between the numbers series featuring Diesel, who would later get his own series. This one has a Valentine’s Day theme. They’re weird, there’s magic (not normal for a Stephanie Plum book), and they sort of set up the new series. These do not need to be read as part of the regular Stephanie Plum series, but they’re short and they’re funny. I read this one in a day as well. I’m giving it 4 stars, because it made me laugh out loud.

And that’s it for Week 39. Hopefully you’ll see another installment in a few days.

This entry was posted in What I Read. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

