Week 41 – 2015

I’d really like to be caught up, but I’m not. Real life seems to be interfering with my book life. It’s not such a bad thing to be busy. I quite like it, in fact.

24941475

Speed Kings by Andy Bull – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This was really interesting. It tells the history of bobsledding, how it became an Olympic sport and details the lives of the big players, specifically Billy Fiske, after the 1932 Lake Placid Winter Olympics. I love Lake Placid, and though I have never been down the bobsled run, a number of my friends and, more notably, even my grandmother gave it a whirl back when it was still fairly new. The book was well researched and it details a topic that is not something I normally run across. Honestly, they had me at Lake Placid. If you have never been, I highly recommend it. It has the feel of being in the Alps without having to leave the US. I couldn’t tell you how many times I have been there, between Stars on Ice shows, a NKOTB concert in the ’80s, competing in skating competitions (including the Empire State Games), and ski weekends at Whiteface. It’s a very fun place no matter what your interests might be. This book added to my knowledge of the history and culture of the place, as well as detailing the lives of some pretty interesting people. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 3 stars.

18007564

The Martian by Andy Weir – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I really enjoyed this book. It is science fiction in the sense that the things that happen are entirely plausible, though technological advancements aren’t quite as advanced as those in the book. It is well researched and well written. I liked all of the characters and I was cheering for all of them. The idea of being left alone on a planet is somewhat frightening. It takes being stranded on a desert island to an entirely new level. I believe that the movie also did quite well in the theaters. I’m giving this 4 stars.

40320

Full House by Janet Evanovich – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the BPL. This is Full #1. I thought this was really cute. It’s a romance and a mystery rolled into one. Billy is a divorced mother of 2 and Nicholas is a businessman with a passion for horses, specifically polo. There are odd things happening in the neighborhood and somehow Nick tricks Billy into renting a room to his cousin in order to get her out of his house and hopefully keep her safe. This is just cute and thoroughly entertaining. I’m giving it 3 stars.

11588

The Shining by Stephen King – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was the book club pick for October. I didn’t realize until after we had picked it how fitting it was for the October pick, as it is a thriller/ horror novel. Most people have at least seen the movie, but the book is obviously more detailed. I thought it was really interesting that the father is loosely autobiographical and that King wrote it when he was struggling to overcome alcohol addiction. The book is weird, but it’s well written. It actually gave me anxiety to read. Obviously not all of the characters were going to make it to the end of the story. I’m giving it 3 stars.

And there you have it… Week 41.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

