Week 43 – 2015

Are you ready for this? I’m 74 books behind on my Goodreads challenge. It’s just not happening. I’m not even going to hit last year’s numbers. I have been reading some ridiculously long books and I keep playing games on my Kindle instead of reading. It’s totally my own fault.

25111020

The Sisters of Versailles by Sally Christie – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I thought this book was great. It tells the story of 5 sisters, 4 of whom became mistresses of Louis XV. You would think that this story would be more famous, but even with all of the books I have read (both fiction and non-fiction) surrounding this time period, I had never heard about these sisters. Can you imagine getting involved with 4 people from the same family? Henry VIII and the Boleyn sisters have nothing on this crowd. But they still talk about Henry VIII and Louis XV is sort of seen like something of a fool. Perhaps this is why. This book is well researched and told in a compelling manner, using the point of view of each sister (at least the 4 involved with the king), as well as letters between them. I found Diane especially amusing. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

9680114

Pure by Julianna Baggott – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Pure #1. It is YA dystopian fiction. My favorite. You should read this. Bombs were detonated and people outside of the dome (biosphere, whatever) were not only injured, but because of a component within the bomb, they were morphed with whatever they were touching at the time. It’s cool. I like the concept. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And here we have another reason that I’m behind. I was only reading 2 books a week in October…..

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

