Week 45 – 2015

And so the scramble begins. I will start the new year caught up if it kills me. I remember doing this last year also, so things really never change. Also, I am so far behind on my Goodreads goal that there is absolutely no hope that I will even hit my numbers for the previous 2 years (250+ books each).

128752

Bare Bones by Kathy Reichs – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. This is Temperance Brennan #6. I thought this one was really good. The problem with reading a lot of books in a series and then waiting over a month to write the review is that it’s really hard to remember what they are about. I do remember this one and I definitely liked it, but even now I don’t really remember how it turned out and I could probably read it again and enjoy it all over again for the second time. I am also like that with the TV series. Each time I watch an episode, I enjoy it as if I hadn’t seen it before. I’m giving this 3 stars.

25394138

Hanover House by Brenda Novak – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is Hanover House Chronicles #0.5. I really enjoyed this and I am looking forward to reading the series. This is a short novel which sets the scene for Brenda Novak’s new series. I’m actually a little disappointed that I am unable to read the next book right now. It is really suspenseful and it sets up the characters and their relationships with each other. It is sort of a teaser, actually. You are completely drawn in and cannot wait to find out how the story continues. Well played, Ms. Novak. Well played. I’m giving it 4 stars

6433090

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I really like this author. This one is NOT about lesbians. It is about a haunted house. It was popping up on all of the lists of best haunted house books and since I like the author, I put it on hold. This is a fairly typical haunted house story. But the author is awesome, and therefore the story is compelling and it flows well. You will not be able to wait to find out what happens next. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And we’re done. Week 45 over.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment