Week 46 – 2015

In the interest of pretending to get caught up, here is week 46.

Print

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really liked this. It’s like Veronica Mars meets Big Bang Theory with a dash of I Love Lucy. I admit that I did not get all of the Pokemon references (any of the Pokemon references), but that certainly does not detract from the story. Dahlia is hired by a random dude in a sea captain costume to track down a spear that someone stole from him. Except it’s a digital spear and she has to infiltrate a video game in order to get it back. This falls into the New Adult category, but I found it perfectly enjoyable. It’s funny. It moves quickly. I was really impressed that the author was male because he wrote this character really well. I hope that this becomes a series. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

25614228

Unfinished Business by Anne-Marie Slaughter – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really enjoyed this. It looks at equality in the work force. Not only should women have the same rights as men in terms of pay and employer expectations, but men should have equal rights when it comes to providing care for their families. Women are no longer necessarily expected to be the primary care provider, but when men step in to provide care it is still seen as an anomaly. I just thought this was really interesting. She has an interesting viewpoint, having taken a job in Washington and leaving her family in NJ during the week. When she needed to step up at home and step back from the job, she was thankfully in a position to do so. This reminded me of Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. I thought it was powerful and very much on point. I enjoy business/management books and I definitely recommend this one. I’m giving it 4 stars.

25735012

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This is Cormoran Strike #3. So J.K. Rowling sort of kicks ass. These are well written and engaging. I love the characters. This is not Harry Potter. They are detective novels for adults. I may be alone in my opinion, but I actually like these better than Harry Potter. But… I just wasn’t that into Harry Potter. I’m giving this 4 stars.

And that’s it. One step closer to the new year.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

