Week 47 – 2015

So it is officially 2016 and I didn’t get caught up. I also ended the year about 80 books shy of my Goodreads goal. Oops. So I’m going to try to finish up 2015 really quickly, so there may be quite a few posts in a row….

15677

Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith – I borrowed this as an audiobook from the Boston Public Library. I think this book may be part of the reason I stopped downloading audiobooks. It was very long. This is a thriller and it is very good. 2 men meet on a train and 1 proposes that they kill the people in each others lives that are causing them the most trouble. This is a highly original idea, or at least it was when she wrote this. The author herself had a very impressive life. I’m giving this 4 stars.

18143977

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This book is truly excellent. Of course it won a Pulitzer and it was a Goodreads choice winner in 2014, so I may not be the only person with that opinion. I love WWII historical fiction, so this was right up my alley. The main characters are a blind French girl and a young German soldier. The story is about the events that lead to their paths crossing in a small war torn town in France. Just read it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

37380

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This ended up being a book club book. I was the one that wrote it on a slip of paper and added it to the pile. It’s one of those books that always gets listed as a classic but no one seems to have read. And then the book club organizer changed the time for book club and I totally missed it. Oops. I liked this book. I can see why it is a classic and I think people should definitely read it. The story centers around a deaf man whose life is going through some pretty drastic changes. When he moves into a boarding house he becomes pretty involved in the lives of the people in the town. Previously, his life had centered around his also deaf roommate and he didn’t interact with others very much. I’m giving it 3 stars.

25419459

The Lives Between Us by Theresa Rizzo – I received this as an e-book, based on a recommendation from the author, via NetGalley. This is Destiny #3. I haven’t read the other books in the series. I really enjoyed this. It is very emotional. It deals with real life issues. In the first chapter, a little girl is dying. Her family is desperate to save her. For the most part, the rest of the book is affected by this one event. The book also explores the ethics of stem cell research from multiple perspectives. I actually learned quite a lot. The book is well researched. The plot flows well. The entire book will tug at your heart strings. I definitely recommend this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s it for Week 47. One step closer….

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

