Week 49 and 50 – 2015

Upon reviewing the list for week 49, I discovered, not a list, but a single lonely book. Instead of making it hang out all by itself, we’re doubling up.

Week 49

10332146

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café by Fannie Flagg – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. This was a book club selection. I did not pick it, despite the fact that there are LESBIANS, and you know my track record for picking those. This book is great. The movie was pretty great and followed it pretty closely, except they left out the LESBIANS. That’s right. Idgie and Ruth are a romantic couple. None of the other characters in the book seem to think it’s even a little bit odd either, which seems quite progressive for the south in the late 1920’s. But this is a work of fiction, so perhaps it’s really the author that thinks it isn’t really a big deal. Obviously this is not the focus of the book, and I’ve just picked out one really minor detail. This book is great and it’s really funny. You should definitely read it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

Week 50

14201

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I liked it but it is holy shit long. I was inspired to read this because it was on Neil Gaiman’s birthday wish list (that people read it, not buy it for him or whatever). It’s good. It’s about bringing magic back to England and what happens as a result. Obviously this is true crime at its finest. JK. I really enjoyed the section about the Napoleonic Wars. That era always appeals to me, though I’m normally rooting for Napoleon to win (this will happen someday, right?), I found myself rooting for Strange and the Duke of Wellington. Anyway, I’m giving this 3 stars.

20492604

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Someone recommended this as a book club read so I joined the waitlist for it. When I got it, I thought it was going to be another one of those stories about an old man who feels useless and goes on a journey. That is so not what this book is about. Its about an old man who is struggling and needs to adjust to a new life. I really enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

19279307

While Mortals Sleep by Kurt Vonnegut – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. I love Kurt Vonnegut. This is short stories. They are short little gems from the master. I will read anything by Kurt Vonnegut and I have gotten more into reading shorter fiction recently. I try to read just one story a day so that I don’t get them all mixed together. This doesn’t always work when they’re really short, but that’s the plan. Obviously this is not the only thing that I am reading at one time. I read little snippets between chapters of larger novels and other books. Anyway, I thought this was great. I’m giving it 4 stars.

2728527

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This was quite an awesome book and I can’t believe that I never read this earlier. This is historical fiction and centers around life on the island of Guernsey during and after the German occupation. I know this book was pretty big, but it should have been bigger. Maybe the title throws it off. You really have no idea what it is about based solely on that and it’s just too long. I overlooked this and it’s really my own fault. There, I’m taking ownership of my mistake. Please read it. You will thank me. I’m giving it 4 stars.

8587154

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. Shocking, right? That seems to be the trend. I just picked this randomly from my library wish list and put a hold on it. This is YA fiction, and it’s really very good. Basically, the entire book is about identity, not just finding it but accepting it as well. This is getting 4 stars.

19288152

The Wolf by Lorenzo Carcaterra – I received this as an actual book via a Goodreads giveaway. This is The Wolf #1. It is written by the author of Sleepers. I have seen the movie but I didn’t know much of anything else about this author. This is mobsters and terrorists and a bit of revenge. The Russians are funding terrorists who are sending suicide bombers into crowded places. The Wolf is an Italian mobster who enlists support from other crime families in order to make the attacks stop and cut off their funding. He is also trying to discover who ordered the murder of his wife and daughters. This is really good. I look forward to the next one. I’m giving it 4 stars.

23947691

Just Beginning by Theresa Rizzo – I received this for free from amazon.com. This is Destiny #1. It is a love story and it is really well written. I believe that it leads straight into the next book, though the characters do not seem to appear in the third book. Gabe and Jenny fall in love despite a significant age gap. Their families aren’t on board at first, but their love is stronger than the obstacles they encounter. I’m giving it 3 stars.

I guess we know why Week 49 was so empty….

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

