Week 51 – 2015

I’m almost at the end of 2015. Not that this takes care of 2016 or anything, but we’re getting there. Slowly.

16424

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie – I borrowed this from my mum. It is Hercule Poirot #8. Am I the only person that enjoys saying his name? This one was really good. I love when I don’t figure them out until the end. In this, a young lady is in danger and it’s up to Poirot to figure it out. I know that’s pretty much every Poirot plot line, but I particularly enjoyed this one. I’m giving it 4 stars.

24611642

Christmas Bells by Jennifer Chiaverini – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I really liked this. It is a Christmas story and a historical novel at the same time. The Christmas story tells the story of a group of people whose lives are intertwined, including a young teacher who has chosen a Longfellow poem as one of the songs to be sung by the choir she leads. The other part of the story follows the life of Longfellow. It is really well written and completely engaging. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

6506766

Lord Edgware Dies by Agatha Christie – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. The original title was Thirteen at Dinner, which my mum had when I looked for it under that title. I wish they wouldn’t do that. This is Hercule Poirot #9. I enjoyed this quite a lot as well. Agatha Christie was a genius. She certainly managed to utilize all of her little grey cells. In this one, Lord Edgware dies. Truly. He dies. I am not making that up. Then Poirot must figure out who did it. Shocked? Didn’t think so. I definitely recommend this. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s all there is. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. I am also looking for book club suggestions.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

