Week 52 – 2015

I’m almost there…. And now I’m behind on 2016. I could try harder and then I’d be making less excuses.

25406912

Coal River by Ellen Marie Wiseman – I borrowed this from the Boston Public Library. I suggested it as a digital purchase and they let me borrow it first. Score! I love this author. Her books follow a certain magical formula that just works. There is a lot of research that goes into them and they are well written. The story centers around Emma, recently orphaned, who is sent to live with relatives in Coal River PA, a place that she vowed never to return to. Upon realizing the dangerous conditions in the coal mines, she decides that she must do something to help. I really enjoyed it. I’m giving it 5 stars.

18712934

Do Not Disturb by A.R. Torre – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Deanna Madden #2. These are hard to explain. Deanna is an internet cybersex professional. In this installment, a bad man with a history of violence gets out of prison and becomes fixated on Deanna and tries to meet her in person. These are incredibly entertaining. I recommend the entire series. I’m giving this one 4 stars.

23590496

Fortune Smiles by Adam Johnson – I received this as an actual book in a Random House sweepstakes. I thought this was brilliant. I almost wish some of the stories were full novels, especially “Dark Meadow.” I don’t normally read short stories, but this collection is quite awesome. I would recommend this to anyone. Even if you aren’t particularly fond of a story, at least you aren’t stuck with reading an entire novel. I’m giving this 5 stars.

13626068

Death at La Fenice by Donna Leon – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It is Commissario Brunetti #1. This was a book club pick. It is a detective novel. A famous opera conductor has died at the most famous opera house in Venice. I thought it was okay, but I had most of it figured out way before the ending. I don’t like when that happens. The story was decent, but I don’t feel compelled to continue with the series. I’m giving it 2 stars.

And that’s it for Week 52. Unfortunately, all of my calendars are telling me that there is a Week 53, so 2015 is not quite finished. Boo.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 52 – 2015

  1. Pingback: Week 1 – 2016 | Vanessa's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

