Week 1 – 2016

And so 2016 begins. I bet you’ve been hoping it’d come along.

13206900

Winter by Marissa Meyer – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is The Lunar Chronicles #4. I have been waiting to read this since I finished Cress. I pretty much devoured the first 3 as soon as I heard about them. And then I had to wait for this one. I hate waiting. I even read Fairest, which is a sort of prequel to the story that tells the back story of the evil queen. So this is Snow White (though I don’t think there is a dwarf equivalent thrown in, which is fine, because I’m pretty sure that was mostly a Disney thing), and it follows the same basic story. Obviously the previous story line is ongoing as well. I just love these books. She’s planning to start in on Alice in Wonderland, so obviously I can’t wait for that. I’m a little sad that the Lunar Chronicles are over, but I look forward to reading the next thing. Read the Lunar Chronicles. Start with Cinder. You’ll thank me. Other people already have. It’s getting 4 stars.

11161779

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. It’s dark. I believe it is considered a gothic horror / mystery. I really enjoyed it, but some parts confused me. Even now, I’m not entirely certain one of the characters wasn’t a ghost. I enjoyed it. It’s quite creepy. It reminded me of The Lottery in some ways, especially regarding the way they were treated by the neighbors. Apparently, this is semi-autobiographical. True or not, this was how she felt about her neighbors. I’d have moved. Or given them all the finger. I’m giving it 4 stars.

18106480

Pointe by Brandy Colbert – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. A young dancer’s missing friend has reappeared after 4 years with a kidnapper. When Theo sees the face of the kidnapper and connects him to her first boyfriend, everything in her life seems to fall apart. This is YA fiction and deals with real issues that teens sometimes face (though hopefully not all at once), such as pressure to succeed, inappropriate sexual relationships, and eating disorders. I really became absorbed in the story and felt drawn to the characters. I felt that this was really well written. I’m giving it 5 stars.

25496466

If You Dare by A.R. Torre – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is Deanna Madden #3. Deanna wakes up and cannot remember what happened or why her nose is broken and bruised. There’s a lot of blood and her boyfriend isn’t answering her calls. That is how the third installment in this unusual series begins. What happened and where is Jeremy? This was very suspenseful and, though I hope there are others coming, this may be a great conclusion to the series. Start with the first book, read the second, and then read this. It is all part of a cohesive progression and though I suppose that you could read them out of order, I really wouldn’t. I’m giving this 4 stars.

And that’s it for the first week. As always, if you have suggestions about books that you enjoyed or if you want to send me something to review, please feel free to contact me.

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

