Week 2 – 2016

And we’re off and running with 2016. Are you excited? Here’s what happened during Week 2.

7176578

Beatrice and Virgil by Yann Martel – I borrowed this as an e-book from the Boston Public Library. I really liked Life of Pi. I suggested this as a book club read, as the author’s new book seems like it might be really good (I actually received a copy from the publisher and it’s loaded and ready to go on my kindle), and I realized that he had probably written others in the meantime. The only nice thing I have to say about this is that it’s short. There are a lot of references to other works by other authors and I think that it ultimately detracts from the story. If you’re going to write a play about a monkey and a donkey that more or less mirrors Waiting for Godot with allusions to the Holocaust, just come right out and admit it. This was sort of painful to read. I didn’t really enjoy it, but it was short, so I’m giving it 2 stars.

22429563

The Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood – I borrowed this as an e-book from the BPL. This is short stories. I love this author. The entire collection is dark and funny and well written. I especially liked the title story. Even if you are not into short stories, these little gems are entirely enjoyable. Some writers lose some of their game as they get older or they run out of ideas or something, but that is certainly not the case here. It’s like she gets even better with age. I’m giving this 4 stars.

25814512

Everyone Brave Is Forgiven by Chris Cleave – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. I loved this book right up to the last chapter, which I would take out of the book. The book takes place in London during World War II. It centers around Mary who is trying to find her way in a world that has changed abruptly but still remains the same in some ways. It is also about Alistair, an officer, who is doing his best to take care of himself and the soldiers under his charge. The book is really well written. I like this author a great deal and this one certainly doesn’t fall short. I also really like the title which acknowledges that we are all doing our best even if things do not go as planned. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 5 stars.

And there you have it. Week 2!

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

