Week 3 – 2016

I need to get going with this or we’re going to run into the same issue I had all last year. The good news is that I set my Goodreads goal ridiculously low (200 books), so there is no way that I am ever behind.

25644437

Find Her by Lisa Gardner – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via NetGalley. It is Detective D.D. Warren #8. This book was excellent. Flora is the central character in this one (aside from D.D.) and she is playing with fire. She was abducted 7 years previously and now she is baiting the men who might do it to others. It was a really interesting take on crime fiction. The whole scenario had an interesting twist to it. It’s hard to find mystery novels that surprise me and keep me guessing until the end and this one definitely did. I definitely recommend it. In fact, I recommend the entire D.D. Warren series. I’m giving it 4 stars.

23460830

Secondhand Souls by Christopher Moore – I borrowed this as an actual book from the Boston Public Library. This is Grim Reaper #2. I love Christopher Moore. There is no way to explain this book. I would suggest reading A Dirty Job and then this one. The books are hilarious. The characters are unbelievable, but in a good way. There are reanimated taxidermy creatures made of bits and parts of other animals. There are ghosts and the “Mayor of San Francisco” obviously makes an appearance. The hellhounds have gone missing and Charlie needs to find a new body to inhabit. Do you see what I mean? This guy has an incredible imagination and it’s actually funny. I’m giving it 4 stars.

25168596

The Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lipton – I received this as an e-book from the publisher via the Penguin First to Read program. I really liked this book. This author is one of my favorites, based solely on having read Sister. I would categorize this as a mystery, because you don’t know who the bad guy is until the end. Yasmin and Ruby have traveled from London to Alaska in order to visit Matt, who is there studying wildlife. When they arrive, the police inform them that the village where he was staying has burned to the ground and that he is presumed dead based on evidence found at the scene. Yasmin does not believe that Matt is dead and takes Ruby (who is 10 and deaf) to go find him since no one else will help. Their journey into the tundra is filled with many dangerous scenarios and awe inspiring sights. From the Northern Lights to a deadly storm, this book is absolutely packed with suspense and interesting information. I, for one, never knew quite so much about fracking and the dangers associated with it until reading this book. I definitely recommend it. I’m giving it 4 stars.

16248311

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro – I borrowed this as an actual book from the BPL. This has been on my to read list for a long time. This is mostly about making choices and being able to take care of yourself and not rely on others. I love historical fiction and this one certainly did not disappoint. Grace receives an inheritance from a woman she has never met and the quest that she goes on in order to understand why and how their lives could possibly have intertwined. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s sort of long, but once you get going, you won’t even notice. I’m tempted to try other books by this author, but I’m afraid that they will not quite live up to the greatness that is this one. I’m giving it 4 stars.

And that’s Week 3. And I’m officially behind schedule. Let me know if you have read anything lately that you really enjoyed. I will read just about anything, so don’t be shy.

 

This entry was posted in What I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

